An edition of: WaterAtlas.orgPresented By: USF Water Institute

Water-Related News

EPA Accepting Nominations for the 2011 Gulf Guardian Awards

The U. S. Environmental Protection Agency's Gulf of Mexico Program partnership developed the Gulf Guardian awards as a way to recognize and honor the businesses, community groups, individuals, and organizations that are taking extraordinary steps to keep the Gulf healthy, beautiful and productive. The Gulf Guardian Award recipients exemplify what the Gulf of Mexico Program partnership is all about; innovative solutions that come about when we pool resources and look for creative ways to positively impact our quality of life and economic well being on the Gulf of Mexico.

The first Gulf Guardian Award winners were recognized in 2000. For the year 2011, the Gulf of Mexico Program partnership will be awarding 1st, 2nd and 3rd place awards for seven (7) categories: Business & Industry, Environmental Justice/Cultural Diversity, Civic/Non-Profit Organizations, Partnerships, Youth Environmental Education, Individual, and Bi-National partnership efforts. All 21 winners in these seven different categories will be rewarded and recognized with an impressive marble and glass memento, press coverage on their project, and recognition by their peers at a special Gulf Guardian Awards ceremony.

The Gulf of Mexico Program is underwritten by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and is a non-regulatory, inclusive consortium of state and federal government agencies and representatives of the business and agricultural community, fishing industry, scientists, and community leaders from all across the five Gulf States and Mexico. To complete a nomination application for 2011, go to the Gulf of Mexico Program's web site and then click on the Gulf Guardian Application button. Applications are available in both English and Spanish. Nominations are due by March 31, 2011.

Additional Contact Information

Diane Altsman

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

(228) 688-7015